How to Block and Unblock Accounts on Twitter

How to Block and Unblock Accounts on Twitter

Twitter is a popular microblogging and social networking website that allows users to create and engage with ‘tweets,’ or short messages.

Would you like to block a Twitter account? You can easily block accounts on Twitter by following this step-by-step tutorial.

Before that, let’s understand what a block is and then how to block and unblock accounts on Twitter in desktop and mobiles as well.


How Does a Block in Twitter work?

Block is a Twitter feature that allows you to manage how you connect with other accounts. This feature allows users to prevent certain accounts from contacting them, seeing their Tweets, or following them.

You can’t follow accounts you’ve blocked, and other accounts can’t follow you whom you have blocked.

You will be unfollowed if you block an account you are presently following (and them to unfollow you). You will have to follow that account again if you wish to unblock it.

Accounts that have been blocked do not get a message that their account has been blocked by you.

A blocked account, on the other hand, will notice that they have been blocked if they visit the profile of the account that has blocked them (unlike mute, which is invisible to muted accounts).

Any of your Tweets that directly reference them will be accessible for them to read and attach throughout the reporting process if you block an account and they choose to report your account.

You will not get alerts from blocked accounts or accounts you don’t follow who mention you in conversations initiated by blocked accounts.

When accounts you follow mention you in a conversation initiated by an account you block, you’ll get a notice. If you want to see all of your mentions, type your username into the search bar.

The blocking feature works only if the account you’ve blocked is signed in to Twitter.

They may be able to read your public Tweets if the account you’ve blocked isn’t signed in or is accessing Twitter information via a third party when you choose to share your content on the Twitter platform.


What Blocked accounts Cannot Do

  1. They will not be able to follow you.
  2. Not able to find your tweets in search when you’re signed in to Twitter.
  3. They can’t view your tweets when they are logged in on Twitter (unless they report you, and your Tweets mention them).
  4. Will not be able to view your following or followers lists.
  5. Cannot tag you in a photo.
  6. View the “Moment” you’ve created.
  7. Unable to add your Twitter account to their lists.
  8. Send you Direct Messages (DMs).

How to Block and Unblock Accounts on Twitter


How to Block a Twitter Account

You can block a Twitter account in two ways: 1) By blocking someone from a Tweet; 2) By Blocking someone from a Twitter Profile.

1. To Block Someone from a Tweet in Desktop

Step 1: You will need to click the … (three dots) icon that you will find at the top of a “Tweet” from the account that you want to block. You will see the below options.

block-account-twitter-desktop

Step 2: Click the “Block” option. A pop-up will appear for confirmation. Once again click on “Block” to block the account.

block-account-twitter-desktop1

2. To Block Someone from a Twitter Profile in Desktop

Step 1: You have to go to the account’s profile page to block them.

block-account-twitter-profile-desktop-1


Step 2: From their profile page, click the … (three dots) besides “Follow” button.

Step 3: You have to click “Block” from the drop-down menu and then you have to click “Block” to confirm the account block.

3. To Block Someone from a Tweet in Mobile

Step 1: Tap the … (three dots) icon that you will find at the top of a Tweet from the account you are looking to block.

Step 2: Now click “Block”, and then click “Block” to confirm account blocking.

4. To Block Someone from a Twitter Profile in Mobile

Step 1: You have to go to the profile page of the Twitter account you wish to block and click on the three horizontal dots icon at the top of the app.

Step 2: Now click on “Block“. A pop-up notification will appear on your mobile screen and then select “Block” to confirm the blocking of the account.

Block Someone from a Twitter Profile in Mobile

How to know if I have blocked someone in Twitter?

It is very easy to know whether you have blocked someone or not.

Once you visit the Twitter profile of the account that you have blocked, you will notice that the “Follow” button has been replaced by the “Blocked” button.

Also, the tweets from the account’s profile will be hidden, however, you can access them by choosing the Yes, view profile option.


How To Unblock a Twitter Account

Step 1: You will have to go to the blocked account’s Twitter profile.

Step 2: Now you need to click the “Blocked” button. Finally, confirm whether you wish to unblock the account by choosing Yes or Unblock option on Twitter.

unblock-twitter-account

How to Manage your Block List in Twitter

You can very easily view and manage your blocked accounts list on Twitter.

The steps are as follows:

Step 1: Go to the side navigation menu and then click on More (three dots) option.
Step 2: Now click on “Settings and privacy” and then click on “Privacy and safety“.
Step 3: Now click “Mute and block” and then click on “Blocked accounts“.
Step 4: Now you see all the accounts that are blocked. You can Unblock the account from here by clicking on the “Blocked” button as well.

manage-blocked-accounts

So this is how you can block and unblock an account in Twitter. You can see some of the frequently asked questions regarding this as well in the below section.


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) on Blocking Accounts from Twitter

Can I block someone on Twitter without them knowing?

Not completely – Although Twitter does not alert others when you block them, however, they can still get an idea from the website’s settings that you have blocked them.

Is it better to mute or block on Twitter?

It is entirely up to you.

To put it another way, muting someone on Twitter is a softer way of blocking them. They will not be alerted that you did so, just as they will not be alerted if you block them.

You’ll be able to clear their tweets and retweets from your feed, but they’ll still see your retweets and tweets.

What is a soft block on Twitter?

On Twitter, a soft block removes a user as your follower. By blocking and then unblocking a user on Twitter, you may remove them as a follower. The benefit of a soft block is that it is not immediately apparent to the other person that they have been blocked.

What being blocked on Twitter looks like?

You won’t be able to see other person’s profile if you’ve been blocked by them. Instead, you’ll see the message “You’re blocked.” You can’t see [the blocker’s] Tweets or follow them.

Why can’t I unblock someone on Twitter?

It could be that you are not following the right way. In order to unblock someone on Twitter, you’ll have to go to their profile page and hover your mouse over “Blocked,” and then click “Unblock”. Doing this will allow you to follow them, and vice versa.


Conclusion

So this is how you can block and unblock accounts on Twitter using both the desktop and mobiles.

I hope this tutorial was useful and informative for you.

If you still have any questions or comments, then you can post them below in the comments section.

You can go to Twitter Help for more information.

Reference: https://help.twitter.com/en/using-twitter/blocking-and-unblocking-accounts


Also Read: